Travel J'adore

Reviews Donegal

Reviews

 

Donegal - Ardglass Cottages

All of the reviews come from our Airbnb™️ HomeAway™️ and  Trip Advisor™️ sites. 

Michaela

Brilliant accommodation, house was stunning and plenty of equipment and bed clothing etc. Lovely area and will defiantly be back.

June 

Rating ☆☆☆☆☆


Eileen

Lovely weekend stay in portsalon, in spite of the rain! The house was lovely and spacious, would definitely recommend!

November 2015

Helpful

Response from Netty:

Thank you Eileen, it was great having you and your friends, you are always welcome back. Sorry about the rain! ;-) -- Best, Annette

November 2015

Rating ☆☆☆☆☆



Justine H. said...

Jul 26, 2016

very good

Rating ☆☆☆☆

Ardglass cottages, Portsalon, Donegal, Ireland (3781635)

Date of Stay
July 16, 2016

Helpful votes:0/0

Very spacious. There was 9 of us in 1 house and we never once felt cramped. The grounds the properties are on is fantastic loads of room for the kids to run about and never had to worry because of the electric gates. The house is brilliant but the only thing i would say would be the sofas in the conservatory could do with updating aswell as the play park but it wouldnt put us of going back again. The view from the house was amazing and so close to the beach. Overall a brilliant holiday :-)


Pierre M. said...

Jul 27, 2016

-Very nice house with view to the sea

Rating ☆☆☆☆

Ardglass cottages, Portsalon, Donegal, Ireland (3781635)

Date of Stay
July 9, 2016

Helpful votes:0/0

We spent 1 week in this house. It's in a secure area of 3 houses with foot access to games for kids and a little shop. The house is comfortable. We had only problems with the Wifi which was not working and the 2nd toilet was not working as well. The house is a 15 min walk to the beach and a pub / restaurant.


Andrea M. said...

Jun 6, 2016

Fantastic!!

Rating ☆☆☆☆☆

Ardglass cottages, Portsalon, Donegal, Ireland (3781635)

Date of Stay
June 3, 2016

Helpful votes:1/1

These cottages were fantastic, great location and surroundings, the children loved the play park which is on the grounds also, so they were safe within the complex. Our party was 17 adults and 14 children and there was more than enough room for all of us, within the house and on the grounds also. Would definitely stay here again!!!! Brilliant weekend, with family :-)


Joachim M. said...

Jun 9, 2016

Gesamteindruck: zufriedenstellend 

Rating ☆☆☆

Ardglass cottages, Portsalon, Donegal, Ireland (3781635)

Date of Stay
May 8, 2016

Helpful votes:0/0

Zunächst waren wir enttäuscht, dass das Haus nicht zu dem Ensemble gehört, wie es im Internet abgebildet ist, sondern direkt an einer viel befahrenen Straße mit Kreuzung lag. Das Haus war in einem ordentlichen bis gutem Zustand und sauber. Wir haben uns dort schließlich wohlgefühlt. Die Holzgartenmöbel (vor allem die Stühle und die Bank) sollten im Winter reingeholt werden, einige Latten waren durchgebrochen. Da wir vor etlichen Jahren für viele Jahre in Donegal gelebt haben, war eine Betreuung nicht notwendig. Als Golfer fanden wir die Nähe zum Portsalon Golf Club sehr angenehm, ebenso die geringe Entfernung zu Donegals herrlichen Stränden. Sehr empfehlenswert fanden wir Sarahs Restaurant am Portsalon Pier. Da wir Donegal lieben, nehmen wir einige Unzulänglichkeiten in Kauf.


Massimo F. said...

May 2, 2016

Eccezionale

Rating ☆☆☆☆☆

Ardglass cottages, Portsalon, Donegal, Ireland (3781635)

Date of Stay
April 23, 2016

Helpful votes:0/0

Casa bellissima. Non mancava assolutamente nulla. Ampio prato con giostre per bambini. Supermercato e bar sotto casa. Pub e ristorante a pochi minuti a piedi. Veramente bella.


parishortstay said...

Nov 3, 2015

Beautiful development surrounded by rugged beauty

Rating ☆☆☆☆☆

Ardglass cottages, Portsalon, Donegal, Ireland (3781635)

Date of Stay
October 26, 2015

Helpful votes:3/3

Coming from France, this was my first time to Ireland. I picked the right spot for my initiation to enjoy the hospitality and unspoiled beauty of this marvelous country ! The cottage was gorgeous, charming and very clean, with all the comforts of home ! There is a lot to see in this area and we were lucky with the weather, it was mild and sunny most of the time. Portsalon is the perfect holiday spot with just enough of everything you need. Close by (a 10 min walk) is Sarah’s, a nice local restaurant and pub for a meal or a pint of Guinness. Next door is a seaside golf course which also serves food. However if you want to go further afield (10 min drive) there is a really nice fine dining resturant in Kerrykeel, called “Ripples” with a magnificent ocean view. Be sure to try the local speciality for dessert "Carrageen Seaweed Pudding”, so good ! They make it today just like they did 100+ years ago, they collect it right from the beach and cook it down to make this unique and yummy dessert. If you want to make dinner at home there is a small but very well stocked grocery store on the grounds. An important note: if you must have wifi 24/7 then you should make plans to bring (or rent from Hertz like we did) a wifi box. Internet can be spotty in this part of rural Ireland, but with the box from Hertz we were covered most of the time.


Susan F. said...

Aug 4, 2015

Amazing property

Rating ☆☆☆☆☆

Ardglass cottages, Portsalon, Donegal, Ireland (3781635)

Date of Stay
July 18, 2015

Helpful votes:6/6

The property was amazing, really handy to the shop. Ideally situated for touring about and also close enough to walk to the beach and harbour. Would definitely recommend this property to anyone wanting to visit this beautiful area of Donegal.


Anonymous said...

Jul 11, 2015

Lovely home in the countryside

Rating ☆☆☆☆

Ardglass cottages, Portsalon, Donegal, Ireland (3781635)

Date of Stay
May 22, 2015

Helpful votes:3/4

Maintained, clean and spacious home,. Short walk from Portsalon. Highly recommended.


Judith G. said...

Jul 8, 2015

Clean spacious and very comfortable. Great time!

Rating ☆☆☆☆

Ardglass cottages, Portsalon, Donegal, Ireland (3781635)

Date of Stay
May 13, 2015

Helpful votes:5/5

This is the perfect place for a relaxing family time away from it all. We love Portsalon and the property was in a secure development so it felt very safe. There were 9 staying in the house but we had lots of space - we especially loved the conservatory and the upstairs lounge. We had everything we needed and had a magical time. We would love to go back and would recommend.


Orla B. said...

Mar 1, 2016

Beautiful Cottages in a Stunning Location

Rating ☆☆☆☆☆

Ardglass cottages, Portsalon, Donegal, Ireland (3781635)

Date of Stay
April 23, 2015

Helpful votes:2/2

We stayed in one of the beautiful cottages over Easter. The houses are of a superior standard, offering loads of space for large families. We loved the way the houses are designed, large open kitchen leading into a bright sunroom. The perfect setup for the adults to enjoy a meal in peace while the children happily watched a movie! The whole house is beautifully decorated & offers you everything you need for a perfect stay. The children’s play area just outside your door is heaven for the kids, keeping them entertained for hours in such a safe setting. The cottages are perfect for large family gatherings or for a relaxing weekend away. The location of the cottages is second to none with literally everything on your doorstep. We were lucky enough to enjoy fantastic weather, days spent on the beach & Lazy afternoons down by the pier. All within a few minutes stroll from the Cottages. We will definitely be back!!"


Colm M. said...

May 13, 2015

Beatiful location

Rating ☆☆☆☆☆

Ardglass cottages, Portsalon, Donegal, Ireland (3781635)

Date of Stay
August 2, 2014

Helpful votes:8/8

This is one of the most beautiful spots in Ireland. We have stayed about 4 times in these cottages. The location is fabulous - a short walk to the most magnificent beach with stunning views and perfect sand, waters and waves. A great base to explore Donegal which I think is the most beautiful county in Ireland. The houses are large with all mod cons and very comfortable for one or two families each. They are very secure and safe for small children and a great bonus is having an indoor games area for the odd time the rain comes… There is also a shop and restaurant right beside the property which is very handy for all provisions. All in all an unbeatable holiday in the west of Ireland.

 

Trip Advisor™️

“Great Family Holiday”

Rating ☆☆☆☆☆

Reviewed August 24, 2015

Travelled with 5 other families. Great for a sharing holiday with multiple families. Secure gated environment with outdoor playground and indoor play area. Shop, pub and beach short walk away. Houses have all facilities required for holiday. Note the wifi is not great and some of the houses have "dated" TV's


“Fabulous Accommodation in a Stunning Location”

Rating ☆☆☆☆☆

Reviewed May 21, 2015

We stayed in one of the beautiful cottages over Easter. The houses are of a superior standard, offering loads of space for large families. We loved the way the houses are designed, large open kitchen leading into a bright sunroom. The perfect setup for the adults to enjoy a meal in peace while the children happily watched a movie! The whole house is beautifully decorated & offers you everything you need for a perfect stay.
The children’s play area just outside your door is heaven for the kids, keeping them entertained for hours in such a safe setting. The cottages are perfect for large family gatherings or for a relaxing weekend away.
The location of the cottages is second to none with literally everything on your doorstep. We were lucky enough to enjoy fantastic weather, days spent on the beach & Lazy afternoons down by the pier. All within a few minutes stroll from the Cottages. We will definitely be back!!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family

Orla001


“Wonderful”

Rating ☆☆☆☆☆

Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my family stayed here in May to celebrate my sister and myselfs 40 &50 birthdays. We rented two cottages and had a wonderful time. The children thoroughly enjoyed it, as did us adults 16 in total. What a wonderful way to celebrate my 40 Birthday

Stayed May 2013

me343


"Wonderful family holiday”

Rating ☆☆☆☆☆

Reviewed August 13, 2012

Booked one of the cottages for 1 week at the start of August 2012. Don't let the name fool you, these a large detached holiday homes that cater for 8 people (and even have a fold out single bed should you need to squeeze in 1 more). The homes were spectacular. Well decorated and equipped. The cottages are on elevated ground over looking Portsalon and a minute walk from a shop, 10 mins walk to a beautiful beach and 15mins to the golf course. The houses are in a "gated" area and there is an outdoor play area as well as indoor play area. We had 3 grand parents, 2 adults and 3 kids and we all had a superb holiday. We visited some great locations all within an 1hrs drive as well - something for everyone to do/see.
A trip to Sarah's restaurant at the pier is a must as well.

I would highly recommend these holiday "cottages" if you're interested in a holiday in this area of Donegal.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family


“They had a wonderful time”

Rating ☆☆☆☆☆

Reviewed August 28, 2011

We booked two of the cottages for a week's stay in August. The cottages were much more spacious than we had expected, were beautifully clean & were ideal for families with young children. There is a very safe outdoor play area as well as an adjacent indoor play area. We had a four year old & a two year old in our party & they had a wonderful time. A tip for visitors - have a meal at the adjacent cafe - it only advertises snacks but we went as a party of 11 & they cooked us the most wonderful meal including steak, duck & fish.

One note of caution - there is no wifi available in the cottages & 3G signal is very weak. This might be an advantage for some but it was a particular problem for me.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family